It’s my Day too – Part XIII: Getting into Shape

June 1, 2010

They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. In my case, this resulted in gaining 15 pounds since my 2 year journey with my fiance, who happens to have an amazing way with food (and her mom).

I previously wrote about how I had to get all of my clothes altered because of weight gain, now I will tell you how I am on the road to recovery.

After having been working out for 15+ years, for 5 days a week, I realized that I didn’t have the time to spend like I used to and my routines were stagnating. I needed quick results plus more time to spend with my fiance.

We decided to join a gym that specialized in a unique form of training called Cross Fit. This is an intense 1 hour class which we attend 3 times a week. It is made up of a 10 minute warm up, 15-20 minute intense circuit training routine which uses a combination of plyometrics, dynamic training and compound movements, which involve aerobic and anerobic systems. It’s a full body work out and we are able to motivate eachother while getting us in shape…fast. Furthermore, it is highly educational as it lets you know how the body works, how to achieve weight loss and all about functional training.

The diet part is composed of eating natural organic foods but we have yet to fully master this part as the end of the day always requires a nice stiff drink (due to stressful wedding planning!) Perhaps that will be another blog post, the fiance is currently working on developing some self control and of course some organic recipes we can follow.

Leave a Reply

