It’s My Day Too: Part XI: My Wedding Checklist

May 11, 2010

Every Monday – Jessie will be taking over the blog to talk about his wedding planning from a male prospective.

Just when I thought things were done; I received an e-mail from the boss outlining the things I have left to do.

Planning a night out with guys seems so easy; there’s only two things on the checklist, the LCBO and The Beer store. A wedding checklist is a whole different animal. The following is a list of things done and left to do – T-6 months.

Things DONE

  • Venue – Atlantis – After determining the number of guests – picking the venue will probably take the longest and determine the size of the reception
  • Photographer – Andrew Adams – This is strictly preference of what you’re looking for.
  • Florist – Wow Afket – Be sure to shop around and get someone who your comfortable working with and can meet your budget
  • DJ – DJ Guru – Experience counts when it comes to music, if your grew up in the 80’s opt for someone who’s from that era
  • Violinist – Very versatile as we are using the same violinist for the 2nd ceremony and our reception dinner
  • Fiance’s Evening Dress – I haven’t seen the finance’s dress yet, but I’m told it’s white and a fusion of Eastern/Western style
  • Officiant / Minister – Seems like a decent guy
  • Ceremony #1 – Hamilton gurdwara
  • Ceremony #2 – Radisson Plaza – Roof top Gazebo seems the perfect setting for a ceremony, I just hope Oct. 30th isn’t too cold
  • Hair/ Makeup – LaSonne  – I’m still looking for someone to help me trim my beard. Any volunteers?

Things expected to be taken care of:

  • Invitations – Perhaps in India as it is very cheap
  • Wedding Party gifts – candy?
  • Honeymoon – I’ve been told by a friend that Sandals Nigral, Jamaica is absolutely amazing destination.
  • Rings – Not again, picking a engagement ring was stressful enough!!!
  • Suits – My favorite part. Just putting together the finishing touches…
  • Other Entertainment –  Bhangra Dancers
  • Engagement Party – this is a whole other animal my parents are taking care of, or atleast I hope they are
  • Limos – still working out logistics of the hectic crazy day
  • Video  – This varies, you can hire one of your friends to walk around with a video camera or go all out with 3 cameras and a gigantic electronic arm to guide them – hopefully the parents will take care of this too.
  • Cake – Idoweddingcakes seems the most reasonable place so far.

Planning a wedding is probably one of the most stressful things you will have to do in your life. I think I have aged quite a bit in the last few months, I’ve got the white hairs to prove it. At times it can feel like there are too many chef’s in the kitchen (my parents) and it’s not easy meet everyone’s expectations. When planning your wedding make sure you sit down with your partner and figure what’s important to the both of you as well set out clear goals. After all, if you don’t have any goals and timelines, then it will be like steering a ship with out a rudder. Make sure you have ample time to plan and have set a budget or sky’s the limit.

2 Responses to “It’s My Day Too: Part XI: My Wedding Checklist”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jas. Jas said: bro spent 2 hours writing this blog – his wedding checklist – pls spend 2 minutes to read it http://tinyurl.com/22tnquw […]

  2. Susy Says:

    Ummmm correction to the subheading, “Things the boss expects me to take care of”? hmmm where did that notion come from…?

Leave a Reply

