Women Wednesday: Mad Women

March 10, 2010

Exploring my girl crush on Joan Holloway

Recently, I have become obsessed with Mad Men – obviously the suits are immaculate. All the men are dressed with perfection. I love the styling of Don Draper and Roger Sterling’s 3-piece suits. I am impressed with the stylist of this show and want a personal wardrobe tour. As I have only caught on to this show of late and it is at season 3 – I thought I would not discuss the men suits’ topic to death but moreover discuss my girl crush: Joan Holloway.

This woman is clearly not a size 8 nor is she petite. She is a real woman, a woman with a pear shape and curves. I love her tightly fitted dresses and her demeanor which exudes confidence. This is a woman we can all look up to and try to emulate probably not in her 1960’s style but in the way she carries herself. She has broad shoulders, an ample bosom and wide lower body. All of these are accentuated in her choice of colour and outfit. Usually, it is recommended to not draw attention to body parts you don’t like – clearly she is emphasizing all parts that most of us are trying to hide! What does this tell us? Love yourself for who you are and have confidence – this is all you really need for dressing success.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Women Wednesday: Mad Women”

  1. April Says:

    Agreed! I would probably even where her clothes today; her style is way better than mine.


  2. […] sartorialsavillian.wordpress.com via Joan on […]

Leave a Reply

